School Board

The Our Lady of the Cape School Board is entrusted with the duty of planning, on behalf of the school community, with the school staff (through the Principal) and with the Catholic Education Commission of Western Australia, to meet the present and future needs of the school and the students. Although the Board has no authority in the internal operation of the school, it is a legitimate function of the Board to provide an advisory service to the Principal and staff with respect to policy development and review. In carrying out this role, the Board is advisory: it does not have an operational or administrative role. The Board’s sole connection to the operation of the school is through the Principal.

The Board has no managerial responsibility for the staff. The selection, appointment and review of staff is delegated solely to the Principal by the Bishop of the Diocese.

The School Board finances consist of:

  • Parent paid school fees
  • State Government Grants
  • Australian Government Grants
  • Parish Contributions

The School Board Annual General Meeting is held during the Term 4 of each year. At this meeting a report on the School Board’s activities and the following year’s budget is presented. Election of new Board members also takes place at this meeting. All parents are invited and expected to attend this important meeting of the school community.

School Board Members - 2017

Elected Member: Eloise Jennings
Elected Member: Sue-Ellen Phillips
Elected Member: Mike Valmadre
Elected Member: Anton Smith
Elected Member: Tracey Barnard
Elected Member: Amanda Prestipino
Elected Member: Lauren Bidesi
Ex Officio Member: Des Wilkie
Ex Officio Member: Adrian Torrese
Ex Officio Member: Fr Ian Johnston
Co-opted Member: Michelle Baker (for her expertise and experience in marketing)